Artist

Credits
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    3 Posts

Bootlegs/Mashup Help

I'm trying to create a Bootleg/Mashup.
    I have an instrumental and I want to use a different vocal from a completely different track.
    However... I'm finding it difficult to get the Key of the Acapella to match the key of the instrumental. I'm using Cubase and was wondering if there is any better software to make it easier for me to do this.
    Am I best changing the key of the instrumental to match the acapella, or changing the key of the acapella to match the key of the instrumental?

Any help would be appreciated :)

2. 26-07-2012  #2

Mega Producer

Credits
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    I'm no expert in Bootlegs or Mash ups, but I would say change the acapella to match the key of the instrumental.

Okay so, Semitones are measured in Cents, every 100 Cents is one Semitone & 1200 Cents is one Octave.

For example: If your instrumental is in the key of G Major and your acapella is in the key of C Major you would need to pitch up the vocal by 700 Cents & then the acapella would be in key with the instrumental.
    Or, pitch down the vocal by 500 Cents & then the acapella would be in key with the instrumental.

Why 700 Cents? Because there are 7 semitones (ascending) between C and G.
    Why 500 Cents? Because there are 5 semitones (descending) between C and G.

But, if your instrumental is in the key of G Major & your acapella was in the key of C Major you wouldn't necessarily need to change the pitch, because these keys work well together harmonically.

If you need any more info, just ask :)
    Also, if I've made a mistake, please correct.
    If any of my links are dead, just PM me requesting to re-up.

3. 05-08-2012  #3

Artist

Credits
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts