1. 09-03-2016  #1

Banned

Credits
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    24 Posts

watermarked multitrack files from studio, scare tactic or reality?

I used to work as an intern in a major studio in the US and maybe technology has changed, but watermarked studio files used to mean just adding another audio track over the top to prevent stealing the music (clicks,beeps,tones etc)
    I've been told that digital studio multitracks now can be traced back to origin of who licensed them. So let's say so and so's company licensed some tracks from a label the project never happened or company went bust, they still have the tracks and gave to a friend who remixes. Can those files be traced back somehow to the licenser?
    If anyone knows for sure chime in. I've asked as many industry people as I still know and some say it's just bs scare tactics to prevent theft and misuse of the label assets. Just curious

2. 09-03-2016  #2

Administrator

Credits
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    38 Posts
    I have heard the same exact thing. Some labels told me "this file is watermarked, any use other than to remix for us will result in your balls being cut off" etc. There was one time where they said it's watermarked, and if I share the file they will find out. I "accidentally" shared said file, no one ever noticed. From what I hear, it's watermarked but only a certain spectrum analyzer is able to see the watermark. Even after the file has been remixed.

3. 09-03-2016  #3

Superstar DJ

Credits
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    47 Posts
    Have you tried opening those files in audio editors that allow spectral visualization? Maybe you could see the watermark there?